top of page

Ají Chileno


I want to offer ají chileno sauce with my empanadas. Ají is a pepper also known as Capsicum baccatum is a mild spicy pepper native to Peru and it goes great as a dipping sauce with french fries or empanadas. I’ve been thinking about ordering some sauce from #AmigoFoods but I really want to grow my own and a friend recently offered to find and buy me some seeds so I can grow from scratch. Hopefully at the very least we can mix some in with the store bought kind sometime soon. They take 7 days to germinate and a while longer to bear fruit but it should be a mildly spicy treat. The reason I am really looking forward to it is that it is a very approachable spicy much more like that of the so called spicy sauce you would find at #TacoBell than that of the jalapeño pepper. I would also like to see what happens if we were to create a blend with chimichurri sauce or salsa verde!

IMAGE COURTESY OF: seedsavers.org #seedsavers #ajíchileno

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
!
Widget Didn’t Load
Check your internet and refresh this page.
If that doesn’t work, contact us.
bottom of page